I can’t even: facing today’s issues

If you cannot make a half-hearted list of at least 10 problems facing your community, state, or country, then that is a pretty large rock you are living under. It seems everywhere we turn, there is someone, somewhere with something they did that caused something.

Now, hear me out, I’m all about change. Progressing for a better tomorrow is great, while there are some basic truths that should always remain constant. However, it seems there is always someone offended by something. I’m told to keep quite, just listen, and educate myself on other people’s experiences. OK, I can deal. The thing I cannot even begin to explain how frustrated I am is when I want to help but I’m looked at and told “you just don’t wouldn’t understand” or “you’re XYZ so you don’t get it”. Then help me get it! Don’t limit my experiences. Don’t lower your voice. Learn, Educate, Repeat. 

Something I recently come to realize is that there is always someone who will be offended by something you say or have harsh words towards something you do. That is just the cold hard fact. There is no such thing as Utopia and the moment we realize that it isn’t possible to live peacefully with all the sooner we will realize what our own problems are so that we can attempt to be at peace.

I say all of this because I can’t even. I can’t deal with how people react to social posts. I can’t deal with how people get offended at the first sign of difference in opinion. I can’t deal with how hostile people get with people of different views. We need to get a grip on how we interact with humans because if we can’t, then I can’t even deal.

Leave a Reply

