The flag that flies is (should be) the same for you and me

I can go ahead and tell you that this post will probably piss someone off or rub someone wrong, if so go read my other posts and find out I don’t care. This post is all about flags.

So people want to ban the Confederate flag because it is linked to racism, old ways, etc. Ok. We always want to progress as a society, not regress. But there is something that should be added to the arguments and it goes a little like this:

We want to remove a flag because it it linked to racism and the old South and anyone who flies it is racist. We want to ban it from Walmart, Apple stores, and state capitols. However, when someone burns an American flag, steps on it, desecrates it, we are told it is their freedom of speech and right as a citizen.

I call shenanigans

How on earth is that even fair? I am not preaching for the sake of heritage nor am I blasting progressives, I just want to show how unequal things are ALL over this current hot topic. I can understand removing it from government places, as all governments here in the US are of the 50 stars and 13 bars. However, this recent endeavor to ban it (the confederate flag) is making it very hypocritical as we step on rights of some and bend over backwards for others. I’ve always heard and been told if you don’t like the flag you live under then move. So if we are going to do something about flags, let’s be fair on all fronts.

Now on the subject of symbols, monuments, and other things in the news

We can change everything we want: military base names, street names, building names, take down monuments, remove all signs of our ugly past but two truths remain constant:

  1. our past will ALWAYS haunt us and will readily come up. Just look at Ole Miss and the great bounds we have accomplished yet we always have something, small or large, come up and bite us on the ass.
  2. you can remove anything you want, but until you change the people, nay the attitude, perspective, and equality, all the change in the world is a waste.

Now, I am lover of history. I am one for social and equal justice before the law. I call a terrorist a terrorist and my rights your rights. There are somethings that should change, and somethings that shouldn’t/won’t/can’t/etc. Distancing ourselves from our mistakes is important, but it also important to never forget where we have come from. Maybe we should change how children are educated. Maybe we should re-dedicate statues and once and for all decide the meaning of monuments. Maybe we should just all move to Canada and cause them problems. I don’t know nor will I ever know, but I know that during my lifetime, I will never see a perfect United States of America.

Leave a Reply

