Relationships are for the Birds

So here I am, age 23, no long-term relationship, at grad school, yet I’m suppose to be in a committed relationship? Looking a lot of social media, Hollywood, and other various things, I apparently have fallen behind in life. Everywhere I look, someone is moving in with someone, people are getting engaged, and my God the amount of children being born. I have obviously missed some kind of memo.

Now and days it seems we are pushed to new channels of communication to interact with potential partners. Now we have things like tinder, farmers only, and whatever website or app you can find by typing “relationship” in the search bar. We are now the generation where we don’t marry the girl/guy next door but rather the girl/guy one state over, 10 hours away, or with a different citizenship. IT BLOWS MY MIND. I’m over here just trying to survive school, have some sort of fun, and decide if my pants match my tie.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have the typical southern idea of finding a belle of my own, having 2.5 kids and a huge yard to mow 2-3 times a month. But come on, can’t we hold off for a little bit? Everywhere I turn there is a couple on a date, someone posing for engagement photos or someone telling me where their registry has been set up at, it’s so draining.

It seems relationships are now a dime a dozen yet marriages last half as long as they did 50 years ago. Is it technology to blame? Is it because we are just becoming more good looking? Who knows, but I do know I am not close to calling it quits. I mean everyone has at least one person on their minds. Whether its the cute waitress, your fitness instructor, or some person you met in college you still are in contact with yet for some reason relationship is not what is happening. I guess the thing now to complain about is how to make “relations” happen, but that’s another blog for another day.

Keep living your life happy couple people, I’ll just be over here stuffing my face with Chunky Monkey ice cream and spending all my time with my lovely tv.

Leave a Reply

