We serve students, not Wall Street: Why the dress code?

So here I am, post undergrad life, going to grad school and trying to survive. I am expected to not only act professional (completely understandable) AND dress professional. Why? Do students dress that way? Is this a private school with a special dress code? Do you really wanna wear that collared shirt and coat in 90 degree weather or that dress when its negative 20 degrees? If you answered No to any/all of those, then you understand what I mean.

Dean of Students. LITERALLY they are here to work for the students. If so, then why do they have to look like they are ready to make a James Bond remix? I work in a residence hall. A hall in which students live. Not a hall where we have the town ball. Now the President, I can understand. The name president literally implies “I’m going to dress the way I want people to view our school, professionally successful”.

Maybe I am just too young and not yet adjusted to this life in Higher Education yet, but seriously, why do I have to dress up? It seems we have gotten to a point in society when we are so worried about a certain image rather than meeting students where they are, making them comfortable, and just having fun. But wait: its summer, students are here (or there isn’t that many) and we get to dress down. WHAT. How does that even make since. “Ok y’all, the ones we work for aren’t here, now we can let loose, unwind, and not dress like we are on the board of trustees.” This is what I imagine is said when the summer polices take place and they send the email that I can wear jeans…IN SUMMER.

All of this and more blows my mind, hence this blog post.

Leave a Reply

